Minutes - March 22, 2008

DRAFT Minutes of the New Jersey Communication Association

12th Annual Conference “Collaboration and Its Offspring”

Business Meeting of March 22, 2008

Marymount Manhattan College, NYC



1. President Jack Sargent called the meeting to order at 12:35pm and welcomed everyone to the conference.  He thanked and congratulated 1st Vice President Anastacia Kurylo for the excellent program. He recognized the NJCA past Presidents who were in attendance, including Jennifer Lehr, Thom Gencarelli, and John Pollock. He asked the NJCA Executive Board members to stand and thanked them for their work in the past year. There was a round of applause for all officers and past presidents, all of whom have given life to this association. 

2. The minutes of the 2007 business meeting were unanimously adopted without change. Secretary Marie Radford thanked Andrea Pampalona for taking the minutes in her absence due to a death in the family.

3. President Sargent announced that Fred Fitch, Kean University, incoming 1st VP of NJCA would be the Chair for the NJCA’s 13th Conference. The conference is scheduled for Saturday March 28, 2007, at Kean University. The theme of the conference is "Communicating for Connections: Instruction for Praxis." The call for papers can be found in the conference program and on the website.


4. Treasurer Hui Min Kuo reported that the NJCA’s fiscal health continues to be strong with a current balance of $13, 565.20.  There was an income of $8378.00 from last year’s conference and an income of $7362.00 so far from conference registration for this year’s conference with more income expected for walk-in registrations. She noted that 2008 conference expenses have not been reported yet.


5. Journal editor, G. Radford reported that manuscript submissions to the Atlantic Journal of Communication continue to be strong and our acceptance rate is low at approximately 22%. He is now accepting articles for publication in March 2009 and noted that our article reviewers are very selective. The publication of the journal has now moved to Taylor and Francis publishers. In 2007 we had 15,985 individuals looking at our pages or abstracts and 3,728 full-text downloads. Our journal is available to 18,000 libraries through EBSCO and is indexed in ERIC, Lexis-Nexis, Sage Communication Index, and Academic Search Premier.


6. Todd Kelshaw, NJCA Membership director reported that there are 210 total attendees at the conference. 60 are regular members or faculty affiliated with institutional memberships. 150 are students or guests. This is a total of 32 more people in attendance than the 2007 conferece.


7. VP Anastacia Kurylo reported that the NJCA website will look and feel very different soon as a new content management system is being developed. She thanked Sheila McAllister-Spooner for her work on the website.  She also thanked all the presenters at the conference and reported that there were 25 panels with 150 presenters from 30 colleges and 5 states, including 5 community colleges. She thanked Michael Echols for his work in developing proposals from community colleges.


8. Christine Lemesianou, reported on student attendance and awards. This year we had a record of 92 student participants, 2/3 of these are graduate students and 1/3 undergraduate students. 12. She presented the student awards and congratulated the winners as follows:

Graduate Paper Award went to: Sandra Mardenfeld of Rutgers University, for her paper “Jailed Journalists Incarcerated for Protecting Sources Speak Out on the Importance of Reporter’s Privilege.”

Undergraduate Paper Award went to: Jana Raudenbush of TCNJ, for her paper “Stay-at-Home Fathers.”


9. VP Anastacia Kurylo presented plaques for special recognition. One was awarded in recognition of the contributions of Marie L. Radford who has been NJCA Secretary for 13 years since the beginning of the organization and is stepping down as Secretary, although will continue on the Executive Board.  The second plaque was presented to President Jack Sargent for his invaluable leadership contributions including being chair of the NJCA’s highly successful conference in 2007.


10.  Fred Fitch and the nominating committee presented a slate of nominations for NJCA officers for 2007-2008 and additional nominations were taken from the floor. The slate was moved by acclimation. The following officers were elected:

 NJCA Officers 2007-2008

Presidents                                Anastacia Kurylo, Marymount

1st Vice President                    Fred Fitch, Kean

2nd Vice President                   Gina Serafin, County College of Morris

Treasurer                                 Hui-Min Kuo, RU

Journal Editor                         Gary P. Radford, FDU

Past President                         Jack Sargent, Kean

Recording Secretary               Wen Li Yuan

Membership Director              Todd Kelshaw, Montclair

New Media Director               Sheila McAllister-Greve, Monmouth

Historian                                 Marie L. Radford, RU

At-Large 1                              Kathleen Haspel, FDU

At-Large 2                              Chad Dell, Monmouth

At-Large 3                              Barbara Reed, RU

Special Projects                       Christine Lemesianou, MSU

Public Relations Director        Pamela Poe, Temple

Undergraduate Student. Rep  Kristen Kiernicki, TCNJ

                        Graduate Student Rep.           Lisa Uber, RU

Corporate Rep.                        James Irwin, Ernst and Young

Community College Rep.       Michael Echols, Brookdale CC

K-12 Rep.                               Open


14. Jack Sargent congratulated all new officers and turned the gavel over to President Anastacia Kurylo who accepted the gavel and said that she looked forward to working with newly elected 1st VP Fred Fitch in the coming year.  They again thanked everyone for coming. Jack Sargent presented Keynote speaker Dawn Brathwaite with a gift in recognition to her contribution to this year’s conference.


15.  The meeting was adjourned at 2:30pm.


Respectfully submitted,


Marie L. Radford, Secretary